Santa Clause Must Die…..t

By Barry Roskin Blake

 Image

Alright, I know what you’re thinking. Another Christmas Grinch with wacko ideas.

But just hear me out. What the title should read is “Santa Clause must go on a diet”, but it doesn’t seem like he has listened to this advice in the past. 

Through my time on the road these past two years, I have met and made plenty of friends, like Jillian Michaels, Tony Horton, Ruby, Bob Harper, Weight Watchers and those great folks over at Zumba to name a few. All of them can share different simple ways to help Santa get healthy. So what seems to be the problem? All the kids are looking up to him while he gives them cookies and candy.  Now if studies are correct and sugar is an addictive substance, than is Santa a drug dealer? Is Santa setting up your kids as future sugar junkies?

The whole idea behind the holidays is to celebrate family and friends. Albeit after this blog I might not have many left.  Holidays should not be an excuse to put on an extra ten pounds.  You’re telling me the most lasting and noticeable gift from my friends and family will be the 10-pound spare tire I gain?  The 10 pounds I will work off with dieting and exercise until I see them the next holiday?

So maybe Santa can’t grow a garden in his front yard but he should be capable of spreading a healthier message than candy, chocolate and cookies. We keep getting bigger each year and nothing seems to be slowing us down. If we don’t act now, how many more children and adults will have diabetes next holiday season?

This is no joke and only one of the fun obesity related diseases possible.

So if Santa can’t fit down the chimney again this year, we really need to have a talk with him.

Also Mr. Easter Bunny, if you’re reading this…watch out because you’re next on the naughty list.

-Barry

Thanks for reading the post and please check out our Fanpage, twitter, and webpage 🙂

Facebook.com/Findingthin, @findingthinfilm, Findingthin.com

One response to “Santa Clause Must Die…..t

  1. It’s all so true, Barry. With my adult patients when I talk about the holidays I always stress that the focus should be family, not food. But some of them seem to think that the holidays are an excuse to start eating at Thanksgiving and not stop until Jan 1. Enjoy your Christmas dinner, your Hanukah latkes, whichever, but then get back to health the following day! Avoid the break room spread of cookies and candies. Bring fresh fruits and mixed nuts for snacking. My patients kindly remember me each holiday season when they bake, but I wish they’d just send a card!

    Hope your holidays are filled with the joy of friendship and family everyone!

Leave a Reply

