When Emotional Eating Changes Form

Since I moved out to L.A. to finish the film and start a new life, I have found it a bit stressful.  You are hit with so many things at once. New friends you need to make. So much stuff to buy and learn about.  I began to wonder if I could take this personally or professionally.

Luckily, I am very good at what I do and will let nothing deter me from my true mission of making this film.

Fortunately during this trying time I have not turned to food for comfort.  This new dieting strategy has brought about major weight loss and resulted in a much better state of personal health.

I was very happy with this result.   Made me wonder if I had finally beaten those demons that had been pestering me my whole life?  Well the answer actually is yes and no.

Even though I had put away my anger and emotions towards past issues in my life, there were still stressors.  With emotional eating gone, I really had no way to deal with them now.

Suddenly though, I found myself in a very new situation.  I was actually not hungry anymore.  I wasn’t even eating during most of the day. There were times that I would eat less than a thousand calories a day.

I have always known emotional eating is about using food as a tool to deal with your emotions. What I did not realize is that by not eating when I am stressed or emotional, this was also using food as a tool.

Emotional eating could be both the consumption and lack of consumption of food.

I was blown away. There were truly two sides to this coin.

Well, as with everything in life and especially this documentary… I have more to learn and more to share.

If anyone else has gone down this road, I would really like to hear your stories or thoughts. So feel free to post in the comments section, facebook.com/findingthin, or anywhere I can read/watch it!

Sharing is the best part of getting through this and helping others.

I will report back more often now that I am settled out here in California.

Thank you for reading.

-Barry

3 responses to “When Emotional Eating Changes Form

  1. Thanks for posting this. I’ve definitely gone through gaining, losing and maintaining my weight. Combating emotional eating can be tough. Do you try to time your meals? One thing that worked for me was scheduling 6 small meals a day. This method helped because it made it harder for me to rationalize eating more that those allotted meals. I also started increasing the amount of fiber I had in my diet, i.e. vegetables, fruit, and legumes.

    Bree

    • I really need to do something and by setting a schedule this might help to remind me. Especially if I have alarms go off on my Mac or IPhone. Then there are not many reasons that I can give myself not to eat. I appreciate the helpful words.

  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation however I in finding this matter
    to be actually one thing which I feel I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and extremely vast
    for me. I’m having a look ahead to your subsequent post, I’ll try to get the
    cling of it!

Leave a Reply

