How To Start Exercising Again After Weight Gain

How To Start Exercising Again After Putting On Weight

I used to be able to walk two miles in under thirty minutes. This was when I weighed about two hundred pounds.
Now of course I am quite a bit heavier and have not walked any significant distance in over four years. Most of it was spent in a car traveling the country shooting the documentary ‘Finding Thin’. Probably would have been good to get out and do some activity somewhere.
Now when I go out for a walk, I can go a couple blocks but then give out with heavy breathing. If going up hill, I am really in trouble.
There must be a way to make it back.
The weight has finally started to come off over the last few months but as I know so well, there is a major component missing. I have got to get out there and walk.
I think back to the days when I was well over four hundred pounds and just started two houses at a time. I then built up house by house until I was really down in weight and kicking butt.
This time around though, I am out here in the hills of L.A. and that does make it more interesting and a heck of a lot tougher. Though when I get to the easier parts I get to walk past Warner Brothers and I love their studio lot.
Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to walk for weight loss as much as just the endorphin rush feeling better.
It is just a struggle to do that I am wondering if there are other exercises that I should to until more of the weight comes off first.
Every pound down makes it even easier to walk up.
I am sure that others of you heavy and thin have gone through this. It is so discouraging at times to be starting over but I am the most stubborn person who will not give up. The word no does not exist in my vocabulary. I like to find a way around walls.
So if any of you have been through this and have any suggestions, I really could use the help.

8 responses to “How To Start Exercising Again After Weight Gain

  1. Start by walking in a pool- it takes the pressure off your joints

  2. Barry –

    I love the fact that you are walking in LA. I didn’t think that was allowed out there! 🙂

    Something that would take some of the stress off the joints would be stationary bicycle or elliptical machine. Start with just 5 or 10 minutes and add 2 minutes every week.

    Be well!

  3. I have it on site along with two private 26 seat movie screening rooms. Then of course there are two pools and two hot tubs. The there is the vollyball court and tennis court.
    I live right across from the Warner Brothers Lott and Forrest Lawn so people are pretty quiet… Oh, and the most important thing is there are two full gym’s. The best of all is I made it off the patches.

  4. Do you have access to a pool? Swimming would be the easiest on your joints. I also recommend incline walking – if you have access to a treadmill with an incline, you get the benefit of a raised heart rate and good calorie burn, while walking (even slowly) on the soft surface minimizes impact.

    I used to be 264 lbs, and today I am 164 – in the beginning, all I did was the elliptical and the incline trainer. Now I’m doing all sorts of crazy stuff – you’ll get there. Keep up the good work!

    • I applaud you efforts. You are really someone I admire.
      With my neck being the way it is and my access to a pool, this sound like the way to go. Any suggestions for exercises in the pool that are pretty decent?

      Thanks

      • thepossiblefeat

        Thank you for your kind words! As for pool exercises, basic lap swimming is great (you could alternate freestyle, breaststroke, sidestroke, backstroke, holding a kick board and only kicking…). Treading water is an excellent endurance exercise, or you could hold onto the side of the pool and kick (hard and fast!). You can also go the the shallow end and “run” – there will be no impact, and it will be really hard to push against the water. Most gyms will have water aerobics classes as well that can be a lot of fun.

  5. Cool. I will try them all and see what works best for me. That really helps. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

