Obesity Similarities To Alcoholism

 

Foodaholic

 

 

 

 

Why Can’t I Diet Alone

For years I always thought that I don’t need to go to weight loss meetings like Weight Watchers or O.A.
I thought I could do it with diet books or by having my meals prepared for me. Yet with week after week, the pounds went higher and higher. It was like a losing fight between me and the scale. Weight loss was a friend that I did not have.

It took most of my family and the rest were heavy so why try anymore.
Then after I got towards the end of making my film ‘Finding Thin’, I discovered that weight groups were not necessarily such a bad thing.
There would always be a sponsor or a Weight Watchers group that I could always go to.

Basically a support system that I could not find on my own. Books and DVD’s are great and certainly help but I really needed someone to help me in this lifelong battle.

Hiding from the scale because I was afraid of what it would say only made the bad news worse. The one person who could lie to me the most or come up with the best excuses was no one other than myself.
Obesity is such a hard battle with food being around you almost constantly. I sometimes compare it to an alcoholic with drinks around him all day. Then add to the fact that the alcoholic must drink in order to sustain him or herself.
Pretty tough. I think there really is some truth behind the term foodaholic.

I know that some people might get angry but obesity is a disease and nothing I have said is not true.
So to make things easier, the one thing I truly encourage is joining a Weight Watchers type group or something similar that works for you.
There will be no more hiding food away or eating secretly up in my room or car. Change can come with the help of others.

2 responses to “Obesity Similarities To Alcoholism

  1. Good luck on your journey. Support groups can be a great help is dealing with difficult issues. Talking about issues makes them ‘lighter’ and easier to bear…

Leave a Reply

