Team Treat Party

A Special Guest Blog By:

Courtney Mueller, Co-Producer of “Finding Thin”

It was 9AM on a Tuesday and the workday had just begun. I started sifting through my emails and came upon one of the most difficult tasks I was going to have to fulfill at work.

The email read:

Happy Tuesday,

Just wanted to remind everyone that tomorrow, Wednesday is our first TEAM TREAT PARTY on the 3rd floor.

Everyone will bring in their favorite treat/nosh/baked item..etc. of their choice to share with the team and we can munch all day!

Did I just read, “TREAT PARTY”? Cookies, candy, donuts, home made cupcakes…Oh my… I was screwed.

I’d been watching what I’d been eating and steering clear of said sweets.  I was quite proud of myself for having the ability to choose healthier foods. My current diet was comparable to the D.A.R.E program back in the 80’s; when it came to the cravings of my sweet tooth, I just said “no”.

Monday night felt like the dress rehearsal to Wednesday’s Greatest Show on Earth… entitled “Courtney’s Will Power.”

Cut to Wednesday- I walked in with home made cookies to at least contribute to the party  I was dreading.  Hey, I’m still a team player.   I end up placing my cookies next to a table filled with treats. It was like the land of the unhealthy, and I have visited that land quite a few times…

Worst of all, this table was set right next to my desk.

The smells of deliciousness were haunting.

The sights of icing, chocolate chips, and sprinkles were daunting.

The odds of making healthy choices were not in my favor but my determination stayed strong. As each co-worker walked up to the table-o-treats raving about every flavor they tasted, I found myself tuning out and turning their praises of one another’s baked goods into my own white noise.  I simply turned my head the opposite way. I kept calm and carried on.  I just said “no”.

As enticing as Wednesday’s Team Treat Party was, my will power surpassed my cravings. I was at peace with myself without eating a piece of a treat. Sure it would’ve been enjoyable to join in on taste-testing like the rest, but I had a change of heart. Having a moment of euphoric sweetness couldn’t outweigh the moments of euphoria from a healthy lifestyle.

I started this journey and I intend on it being a never-ending adventure. I’ll have my treats from time to time, sure. But now I have proven to myself that I can just say no.

And that is a treat in of itself.

3 responses to “Team Treat Party

  1. this is decidedly false: “Having a moment of euphoric sweetness couldn’t outweigh the moments of euphoria from a healthy lifestyle.”

  2. I want to join a team that has a weekly treat partly. I’ll bring the Diet Pepsi, gum, caffeine pills and Newport Lights

  3. So I know exactly how you feel Courtney. Not only are sweets my weakness, but my true weakness is pizza! I can eat pizza 7 days a week if I could. I recently came to the realization how many calories were in a mini pizza (660 calories) holy cow!!! So I am a numbers person. I am learning how to say NO to pizza 😦 My only weakness is, I must stick to it!

Leave a Reply

