The Pain of Weight Loss

I emotionally eat. It was always my downfall, especially when compounded by sugar, salt, and sweets.

Unfortunately this aided my gaining weight after my truck accident years back.

I have always suffered a lot of pain from this accident, but it is increasing and I’m in need of surgery.

The big problem is that I am becoming opioid resistant-meaning that I have built up a tolerance to pain medications.

All the while, I began to transition to different eating habits thanks to my time filming the upcoming movie.

I don’t find myself turning to food to sooth my pain or give me that quick relief that fades in minutes. I’m slowly becoming less of an emotional eater.

So what does someone do when they have nowhere to turn to for an outlet?

I have heard this problem happening with weight loss surgery patients whom have yet find a different source to turn to…and usually gain back most their weight.

It is just so difficult because I am not looking to put on weight and would enjoy some weight loss. Especially before surgery.

I just refuse to do it by going on a diet. This time it really needs to be something that I can live with doing for the rest of my life.

After over 400 interviews, I finally feel like I have it figured out.

The good news is that I am recognizing that I am emotionally eating. I see that I am emotionally eating as my outlet for pain.

Most importantly, I know that I won’t go down that road.

2 responses to “The Pain of Weight Loss

  1. Great article 🙂

  2. Everyone in the world is an emotional eater. If we expect a snack or meal to illicit a positive emotion, we will eat. If that isn’t the response we expect, we’ll either choose something else or won’t eat at all

Leave a Reply

