Diets + Depression = Weight Gain

Just a Spoonful of Antidepressants

A while back, I found out that I was suffering from bouts of depression. I started on the typical SSRI’s and ended up gaining a significant amount of weight. Due to reversing my progress, I wanted to get off of them.

How could I diet if these pills were not giving me a fair chance?

I started to think about genes and the fat ones that I inherited from my family. Just because I was predisposed to becoming obese didn’t mean I had to be obese.

There must be a way to not suffer from negative side effects, especially for drugs that a lot of people depend on.

But I realized that when I started walking for exercise, my endorphins kicked in, making me feel great both mentally and physically. There was something that I could physically do to not only beat the side effects of weight gain, but make myself feel better as well.

Now I am taking a more proactive attitude of not letting things just beat me down.

I know what will happen if I go off the pills; I’ll emotionally eat.

Major weight gain. Major depression.

I can stay on the medication; I’ll just need to keep walking, one step at a time.


 

Leave a Reply

