Bring In The Clown, The Obese Are On Parade

Recognize This Obese Clown?I have spent too many times in a restaurant or at the checkout aisle in the grocery store embarrassed by what I was buying.

Numerous times I gave up going out to lunch or dinner with my family out of the same fear. People said that this fear was all in my head, but realistically, I feel like I am a walking billboard for obesity.

If I have dessert at a table, people look at me with shame. Yet those same people can have the post-dining treat without even a thought of judgement from my end.

I feel like I am the circus act that dares to enter the places that I am supposed to stay away from.

It drives me crazy that everyone looks at dieting as a form of will power, but it can’t be further from the truth. After all, who would WANT the lifestyle of a person battling obesity ?

For instance, how many people watched Kirstie Alley on ‘Dancing With The Stars’ for the prowess of her dancing? They watched because they wanted to see the side show, and had the opportunity to witness when or if she’d fail. She had the potential for just that… right?

We have view those who are fighting obesity in a different light. Whether you consider it a disease or not, bigotry and verbal abuse should not be tolerated in any society.

 Wouldn’t it be a great world if everyone was treated equal?

Obviously this equal outlook isn’t going to happen immediately, but at least we can educate people about the emotional harm that their ignorance brings.

One response to “Bring In The Clown, The Obese Are On Parade

  1. I agree it sucks that there is inequality and mean people. It sucks even more that we cannot control the thoughts of other people. If we could do that and make them think someone eating dessert in a resturaunt must be celebrated instead of looked down upon the world would be so much better

    So the real issue is that we need to come up with a way to control everyone, that way no one will ever be harmed

Leave a Reply

