Here’s The Skinny On Shopping, Part 1.

A Special Guest Blog By: Courtney Mueller, Co-Producer of “Finding Thin”

I love shopping. Shopping can is sometimes little addiction for me in fact.

Heading over to the department stores to check out the latest fashions and perhaps treat myself to a new shirt or pair of pants is both an adrenaline rush and a release for me. It truly is retail therapy.

But lately my therapy sessions are ending poorly.

It feels as if clothing designers are unaware or uninspired by the realistic size of the average American woman.

I’m a real woman with curves. I’m not a twig, not obese- just
regular when it comes to size. But when I’m trying clothes on, I
feel as if I’m squeezing into what my normal size should be. I’m not trying to fit into a smaller size for the vanity of a tag with a smaller number; I’m just constantly battling my standard sizes thinning down.

I wonder what Michael Kors or Diane von Furstenberg would do if they traveled the same locations as “Finding Thin” and really took note at what Americans really look like. Not everyone is a size two… let alone a size zero (what I refer to as “size non-existent”). The average American woman can’t squeeze into the unrealistic expectations that clothing designers create…

and I can assure you that she doesn’t feel beautiful when she tries.

Of course designers design for all sizes, but as soon as we reach a
select size we go from model material to plus-size clothing. There’s a reason why the racks are always full of smalls and extra smalls; the larger sizes are selling out.

Dear Designers-If all the larger sizes sell out first, doesn’t that give you an indication of what the public wants?

As for me, where is the regular? Why is there no in between?

I think everyone should occasionally indulge a little retail therapy.

Go ahead and buy that new shirt or skirt to show off whatever you are
proud of, even at that “regularly plus size”.

Maybe I need a new form of therapy.

One response to “Here’s The Skinny On Shopping, Part 1.

  1. I love your post Courtney.
    The truth is that most designers don’t design for women larger than a size two. I used to love watching Project Runway, but I was very disturbed when one show they were designing for real people rather than models and everything turned out badly except from one designer who used to do costume work. One of the designers actually commented on it being too hard to design for women who “aren’t like the mannequins.” This to me was pathetic.

    When I started my weight-loss journey a huge goal I had was simply to shop somewhere that wasn’t Lane Bryant. I met that goal, but I still feel for my large size sisters out there. There has to be people out there who are willing to make fashion accessible to people no matter their size. C’mon fashion industry! There’s a world of women out there waiting with open purses and wallets!

Leave a Reply

