Cheatos

A Special Guest Blog By: Courtney Mueller, Co-Producer of “Finding Thin”

It was one of THOSE days at the office: the phone rang off the hook, I had back to back meetings, and emails ding my inbox like a typewriter.  I was forced to sit in my office chair all day and couldn’t find time to plan a proper meal.  I went to Plan B: The Vending Machine.  The Vending Machine glows eerily with an invitation to be self-indulgent.  My “lunch” cost 80 cents and mocked my attempts at healthy eating: I chose the Cheetos.

In minutes I had eaten the whole bag.  I threw the bag in the waste can and went back to pounding at the keyboard.  The evidence of my unhealthy choice was soon all too obvious: my keyboard was stained orange.  Suddenly, I flashed back to my uncle sitting me down last weekend reminding me for the 50th time about the summer when I was three years old.

It was the CCC- the Classic Cheetos Courtney story.  My Uncle had a pool in his backyard where my family would gather to soak up the sun.  I had wrangled up a pool floaty where I would kick my little legs around towards the staircase,  and grab a jumbo-sized bag of Cheetos and run back in the pool. My Uncle said that they never worried about me in the pool as they always knew where I was, as I left an orange-colored trail wherever I had float.

He blames me to this day for clogging up the pool with Cheeto reminance.

I realized while I was cleaning up my keyboard that I resorted to an emotional food choice- one that made me think of simpler times- instead of a heathly choice. Cheetos were always my favorite go-to food to snack on. Back then I would just wipe off my orange stained fingers on my bathing suit and paddle away in my float with a smile on my face. But now, I can see that Cheetos are a junk food, a go to food if I want to make a poor decision.

It is time to be an adult. I need to make time for my health and not falling through the Cheeto-sized cracks.

I cheated myself out of a healthy choice…Cheetos should now be spelled “Cheatos”.

Leave a Reply

