Do Bariatric Surgery Patients Deserve Applause For Their Weight Loss?

Many people in my life have opted for weight loss surgery and are always applauded for their weight loss. But I question such praise; have they really taken control of their health into their own hands, or are they just another statistic in a life-altering surgery?

I mean if someone has a facelift, we tell them they look great, sometimes even better… but don’t congratulate them on choosing elective surgery.

Even so, the majority of the weight-loss patients gain it back.

Maybe there has to be some effort on their part. The one thing that bothers me is that when a relative of mine had it done, they had to go on a liquid based diet for two weeks before the surgery. If that’s the case, why not just change your eating habits if you have the will power to do that?

Sure they looked great after the surgery but there are some serious risks.

All of that aside, the real question is, what are they doing that deserves applause? They aren’t really changing their eating habits by choice. Their goal is obviously to lose weight, but at what cost? Why not just lock their jaw? Oh, that’s right… that has been tried before and didn’t work either.

Most celebrities who have had the surgery lie about it. Even the ones like Kirstie Alley or Mike Huckabee are accused of having the surgery and so far there, all lips remained sealed.

And then there are cases like Carnie Wilson, who has basically been a spokesmodel for Bariatric Surgery, shouting from the rooftops over their weight loss surgery.

…and she gained it back and starred on Celebrity Fit Club. We still have hope for Star Jones though, right?

Applause for the Star?

I ask you: Is the surgery worth the risks if you can gain it back like Carnie Wilson or many others?

It is always your choice… but there have to be other options.

4 responses to “Do Bariatric Surgery Patients Deserve Applause For Their Weight Loss?

  1. Almost 5 years ago I made the best decision of my life: to get healthy. I had weight loss surgery (Gastric Bypass 6/06, the weight loss resolved my GERD, severe sleep apnea, high blood pressure, I’m off all medications (was on 8), went from size 28 to 4. Having surgery *is not a solution for everyone* it was the right one for me. I want to stress it goes HAND IN HAND w/ HEALTHY EATING, DAILY EXERCISE & MOST IMPORTANTLY (the hardest part IMHO) working on the head stuff (the why’s of why I got fat.) This is a lifelong war vs. obesity. Having surgery was just one battle, everyday I wake up & fight. My before & now pic: http://www.theworldaccordingtoeggface.com

  2. Almost 5 years ago I made the best decision of my life: to get healthy. I had weight loss surgery (Gastric Bypass 6/06, the weight loss resolved my GERD, severe sleep apnea, high blood pressure, I’m off all medications (was on 8), went from size 28 to 4. Having surgery *is not a solution for everyone* it was the right one for me, it was the HEAD START I needed to change my life BUT I want to stress it goes HAND IN HAND w/ HEALTHY EATING, DAILY EXERCISE & MOST IMPORTANTLY (the hardest part IMHO) working on the head stuff (the why’s of why I got fat) This is a lifelong war vs. obesity. Having surgery was just one battle everyday I wake up & fight. My before & now pic on my blog theworldaccordingtoeggface dot com

  3. Great Job Michelle! I hope that your success continues.
    Bariatric surgery is a tool, and a pretty extreme one at that. If a patient truly understands the process, this is a helpful tool in the right patient. The problem is that so many people see this as The Answer, and they don’t do the hard work they need to make it a success.

  4. Had Bariatric Surgery May of 99. 5’2″ 234 on day of surgery. Now 112. Yes I have to still watch what I eat and I exersise, but I look good (am 52) and feel so much better. You have to listen to the docotrs, anyone that says “they did not tell me I could regain the weight” is lying. They are very up front about this tool that you can use to help you lose weight

Leave a comment