Can Depression Cause Weight Gain Or Can Weight Gain Cause Depression?

I have been up and down with my weight…I’ve been all the way up to 500 pounds and all the way down to 150 pounds.
When I was at my heaviest, I was the most depressed I had ever been and on medication to treat it. Some pills had the added potential stress of gaining weight  but I had to take my chances…trying to fix my problem while adding to it.

When I lost most of the weight, the journey of my weight loss through dieting really brought me joy. I wouldn’t even look in the mirror when I was so heavy, and even still could not see a thin person when I lost all the weight.

It feels like a never ending vicious cycle. It’s like a lose-lose situation. Or, had my depression always been there from the start?

I am much heavier but I’m working my way back down. There are good days and bad ones. While I am truly a happy person when I physically feel better and am eating right, I still battle that component of depression that can lead to emotional eating. I am addressing this issue to not only try to find out why it is so important to get in touch with your emotions but also due to the fact that in most states,  healthcare is getting cut and many of the worst cases are caused and effected by obesity. And obesity  is getting to an all time high.

We are certainly stuck in financially devastating times. There must be a way to try and help people cope. If not just the traditional sit down therapy session, then perhaps online groups and therapists that would come forward for free.
The overhead would be cheaper and as technology gets better and better, we would be able to help more and more people efficiently.

Over the last couple of weeks I have been meeting with experts in trying to understand and discuss the topics of emotional eating, depression, and myself.
It hasn’t been 100% successful but it has significantly helped me recognize my feelings. Now when I feel the need to turn to food, I use my new coping skills to make better decisions. Who knows, maybe I’ll be courageous enough to start the P90X by Tony Horton to really get my blood pumping instead of clogging my arteries.

As I have been discovering more and more, there is more and more hope out there. I just wish that more people would ask “why?” instead “how”.
With exercise and a good diet you’re halfway there; but you must include your own insight as well.

So the next time one of us picks up a bag of chips of piece of cake, just take the time to ask yourself why. You might be very surprised to find out that it has nothing to do with hunger.

The one thing that I have always tried to do with our film ‘Finding Thin’ is to create a community. Selling tickets is second hand, but trying to help and bond with people in need is first.

Leave a Reply

