Mandatory Weight Loss Surgery

They keep lowering the requirements for weight loss surgery. Amazingly, you don’t have to be that heavy to have it done.

People of all ages are going under the knife and it’s hitting the younger demographic by the day. Perhaps this will be the new fad like plastic surgery was in the nineties.

With the high cost of insurance and health care, maybe we should make it mandatory for everyone.

Though I have to ask myself at what cost.

There are certainly significant risks with the surgery, but this one seems to present a number of complications that can arise after the procedure.

I agree that there are a number of extremely obese people that might benefit from weight loss surgery, but I must ask…for how long?

Statistics are popping up that show a good number of people are stretching their stomachs and gaining it back.

So the success rate would really be considered not that great.

When used as a solution for teens, I fear that pre-teens and perhaps even toddlers will be put through it one day, especially if they have obesity running rampant in their family.

That is one thing that frustrates me the most; no one is trying to teach us to make better eating choices. We resort to a quick change to our slowly achieved failure.

On top of that, we keep filling the aisles with the worst food choices but best marketing commercials. I mean, when is the last time you saw cartoon characters dancing around an apple and celebrating? It really has to come down to decisions. Not just on what to eat buy why.

I found myself recognizing many times this week when I was going to eat out of emotion and habit. With the right efforts, I hope to see weight loss surgery as a thing of the past.

We are coming farther every day but everyone wants the quick fix. I hope I can show an unbiased look at all these issues in my movie, but I will not lie or change the facts as to what has happened to my own family and others.

My advice, try a weight group that can support you as you cannot do it on your own. There are plenty of good ones out there like O.A. and Weight Watchers. The decision is yours but just keep in mind that you still have to eat.

So hopefully in the future, the insurance companies will start paying to teach good eating habits and save a whole lot more money, and more importantly, our lives.

I would also like to dedicate this article to my Uncle Howard who died after weight loss surgery years ago.

 

3 responses to “Mandatory Weight Loss Surgery

  1. How about anyone can earn money and than use that money to pay for the surgery no matter what there size is if that is what they truly value?

    Anyone else who doesn’t value this sort of operation as highly can spend their money on something different

    Or is thinking that different people might have different values too revolutionary of an idea?

  2. I think that everyone has different values. They just do you no good if your dead. Why not take funds and use them to educate people to make better choices instead of incurring terrible illnesses and bills.
    Also, I believe that Tobby Cosgrove and Mike Roizen of the Cleavland Clinic set up Weight Watchers groups for their hospital as well as the residents in the local area.
    The groups were either free or at a major reduced cost and the results very positive.
    I think weight loss surgery is a temporary fix to a life long problem unless addressed the right way.

  3. No need surgery if you want to lose weight. Controlling calories into our bodies and apply a healthy lifestyle is the best way to keep weight to avoid obesity. Weight loss surgary has side effects on health in the future.

Leave a Reply

