Welcome Back to Weight Watchers

About five years ago before my accident, I lost an incredible amount of weight.

This was partly due to belonging to a very helpful group ran by Weight Watchers.

 

My doctors approved and I had made many a friend.

Then tragedy had struck when I was rear ended by a truck while driving by a car that led to many medications, injections and eventual surgeries. With this, my weight ballooned back up and I was not able to attend meetings.

I was looking for someone or something to blame and I felt there was no weight loss program or book out there that could help me.

Then last Friday; I was able to sit down with the President and Chief Executive Officer David Kirchoff. He flew into Chicago from NY and was a pleasure to sit down with.

At first I did not know what to expect. After all, Weight Watchers had just introduced a revamping to their program and perhaps they were just out to promote that.

To my great surprise, David only touched on that when asked. Instead, he talked to me as any fellow person would with a weight problem. The struggles and eating problems affected him as much as anybody else.

He talked about what he experienced and that this is a lifestyle change that we all have to go through.

Okay, I have heard this over and over… so what made this different?

First I was given a chance to I watch a group of members meet beforehand. They really were there for each other. They bonded and supported each and every story or problem that needed it.

I was then able to look at the new program itself. Instead of just listing foods and numbers or points, the conversation went into emotional eating and a slew of other issues. I was really shocked.

A group charging a nominal fee every week that lets you eat what you want but tries to guide you towards better choices…this is just unheard of. So with optimistic delight, it really was. At no point did I look at all the different foods laid out and feel like I was deprived or on a diet.

I mean they have Jennifer Hudson promoting them. She is one of the most gifted and talented motion picture stars out there who had no reason to join on for the exposure. So what could draw Jennifer in to this?

Perhaps it was the fact that this group really was filled with care and integrity. I felt so invigorated standing by and watching a truly inspiring group and this was even before I was sat down with Mr. Kirchoff.

If there was ever a man to lead a company, this was the guy to do it. He is on the road several times a year just to talk to fellow members to give and receive the support that we all need.

I am supposed to be unbiased in this film and have always kept that promise to myself as a filmmaker. Though I cannot help but disclose what I felt was one of the best interviews and rediscoveries that I have had in my three years making this film.

So I will actually encourage you to take a very close look at this group and give it a try.

I know that I am going to. That doesn’t mean it is going to be easy and all roses but I have a gut feeling that it is going to be the help that I am looking for.

As all of you know, I will film my progress every few days and keep you informed in the film. I just really have to say that this is by far, one of the most exciting moments of the film so far.

 

One response to “Welcome Back to Weight Watchers

  1. Weight Watchers saved my life!

Leave a Reply

