The Great Excuses

I never like to speak ill of my mother but she did teach me some of the best excuses to use when it came to food.

 

First she claimed that she was too big to walk up the stairs to her bedroom in her home and needed to have an electronic chair to get to the second level. After all, she was sixty-five years. After the chair was put in she stated she had too many aches and pains so she could only use the chair to put food on to bring up and down to her. She couldn’t walk, she couldn’t sit, and the only thing that would be moving was her meals to her.

Next, she insisted on bringing the scooter that she bought for herself into the house so she would not have to walk to the car.

Her latest complaint is that she doesn’t want to go from the electronic chair to the couch or kitchen because it takes too much effort. It’s complete immobility.

When I ask I my mother why she won’t put fourth any effort, the excuses are everything from, a bad arm to a painful back, to a never-ending list of a myriad of other reasons.

The only change I have witnessed from my mother is seeing a woman that walked half of NYC only five years ago, to a person that refuses to walk three feet today.

 

Obesity scores another one.

 

One response to “The Great Excuses

  1. Oh Barry! What an awful thing to watch happen!
    I’ve seen it in many of my patients. One labor-saving device leading to another, and another, until soon it becomes impossible to “labor” at all. The good news is that it can turn around! I had a lady that wheezed so badly when she walked we all swore she had asthma, was medicated out the wazoo and could still barely walk. After finally losing 65 pounds, what do you know, no more asthma!
    Good luck with mom!

Leave a Reply

