The Day After…

During this Thanksgiving holiday, I have fallen right back into my bad habits. I think I might have gained 10 pounds but I don’t know for sure and I won’t dare to step on the scale. I thought it might happen, but what worries me the most is I don’t know why.

Yesterday, I ate all the possible food I had banned myself from. That was a mistake. I should have never prevented myself from eating what I like in the first place. My second mistake was to keep the same logic I had when I was thinner of “oh it is only a mistake if I fail to correct it.”

I can now hear a little voice in my head saying, “ Guess what Barry? It is a mistake even if you correct it, so acknowledge it and do something about it.” True, you don’t want to get off one wagon and think you’ll catch the next one; you gotta stay on this one no matter how hard it is.

I want to investigate why this happened to me and what I can do to prevent this from happening again. Giving in to all my favorite desserts as if it was the last day on earth definitely proves that there is something wrong with my new diet.

I think it will take me some time to understand everything I am going through right now.  My latest venture is into the Cognitive Behavioral Therapy approach by authors like Judith Beck whom I interviewed a year ago. I will write about it in my upcoming blogs.

Happy black Friday to all and try not to burn a hole in your wallet!


3 responses to “The Day After…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Day After… | Finding Thin: Thoughts From A Fat Man -- Topsy.com

  2. Every person will eat and eat and eat so long as they like doing it. Anything other than that would be irrational. First decide if it really is you that is being irrational of it is simply the voices in your head saying it was a mistake. If it is really yourself that truly hates eating a lot, it should be possible to correct. Sort of like people who hate stabbing themselves in the eye are able to avoid doing that. At least until the hallucinations start saying something like is ok

  3. Barry,
    The holidays are always difficult, especially when you are trying to change your life. There are so many things that draw us back into old behavior patterns at the holidays, especially the memories that we associate with foods that are so common this time of year. Trying to dissect away the memories from the eating is what is so hard, doubly so because it seems like no one around you is trying to maintain their control for the holidays.

    I doubt you put back all the weight. Don’t get on the scale, but do get back on the horse. We’ll talk more about what happened when I see you Thursday.

Leave a Reply

