Once, There Was Thanksgiving

For many years, I went with my family to visit my uncles, aunts, cousins and grandparents for Thanksgiving. Our family had its flows like any other and I would sometimes dread Thanksgiving dinner, but gathering together to eat was a tradition. And we ate quite a lot…

After my grandparents passed away, the tradition disappeared with them. I guess they were the glue that was keeping the family together. When that happened, we created a new tradition: we’d go to Wisconsin with my mother and a friend to different resorts where you could get Thanksgiving buffets.

We would stay there all day and eat until our stomachs were so full, we almost couldn’t walk out of the place. Years passed and my mother gained too much weight. Driving up there wasn’t an option anymore. We would only go for a quick lunch at a next-door restaurant and that was it.

For years, Thanksgiving has only meant the right to eat a lot of food until I would hit the New Year’s resolution of ‘eating healthy and losing weight’. Following this trend, I “gave” too much food to my body and it wasn’t “thankful” in return.

My goal for this year and many more to come is to stop seeing Thanksgiving as mountains of food and  start enjoying the company of others. Somebody mentioned in a past blog that volunteering could be a life changer; I will be considering this closely. After all Thanksgiving is about sharing and giving.

To all of you out there, enjoy the holiday, Happy Thanksgiving and don’t forget the true meaning of Thanksgiving!

2 responses to “Once, There Was Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Once, There Was Thanksgiving | Finding Thin: Thoughts From A Fat Man -- Topsy.com

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Barry!

Leave a Reply

