New Vision, Better Diet

Yesterday, I had my first visit to the dietitian’s. This was a complete eye opener. I was introduced to a way of eating that I could probably follow my whole life: I don’t need to deprive myself, I can eat what I like as long as I watch what it is.

At first, I gotta say it was a lot to take in. I am not a big fan of English and Math, so when I am told I am going to have to read a lot of labels, analyze ingredients and then count, WOW that’s a lot to do. I don’t know  if I will always make time to do that: when I am hungry, I wanna eat and that’s it…

I learned a lot: now I know how to count carbs and what healthy snacks I can eat. I have a full list of ingredients and food elements to help me change my diet. I have discovered that I was not eating enough and it wasn’t just about calorie counts.

Interesting enough, the session made me hungry. One of the examples to explain portion sizes/calorie count/carbs was a Ben and Jerry’s ice cream container. 1) I love ice cream. 2) This was a flavor I didn’t know. 3) I hadn’t eaten before my weigh in… So, during the session I kept thinking about where I’d be able to find this pint of ice cream.

I have lost 10 pounds in 2 weeks and have felt exhausted all week again. For the next 2 weeks, my new goal is to lose weight while eating healthier. Food is not a forbidden fruit anymore and I am not scared of it either. I am seeing things differently and I am ready for a change.

The word “diet” is not my enemy anymore. What about you?

4 responses to “New Vision, Better Diet

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Vision, Better Diet | Finding Thin: Thoughts From A Fat Man -- Topsy.com

  2. Diet simply means how you eat- I have a real impatience with people that think it’s a bad word.
    Do I I follow a particular diet because it helps me lose weight? definitely, and because I feel better on it , and my hair skin and nails like it. Plus , theres some evidence to suggest that low-carbing is as good as calorie restriction for aging and longevity.

    BTW if it’s not a trigger food for you, a lot of grocery stores have individual size servings of Ben and Jerry.I’m not sure what the numbers on them are though.

  3. one can argue that it can go both ways

  4. makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

