Am I Making you Fat?

I came across several articles and newscasts using statistics to claim that obesity is socially contagious. At first, I didn’t even consider the statement.  After reading about it again and taking a closer look at my family and friends, I am thinking it might be true.

Yes, my brother and mother are obese so I already know this is a family thing for us. Today was my mother’s birthday and the three of us went out for dinner. I can guestimate that my brother weighs in at 400 pounds and my mother around 370 pounds.

My childhood friends are all overweight or obese. All we would do is go get shamrock shakes, pizza or corn beef sandwiches and hang out in a car. Ironically, while working on this documentary, some of my colleagues have put on some weight too.

What I am realizing is that most of the time, our source of entertainment is food.  I go out with friends and family for lunch or dinner a lot… It mostly includes eating, seating, talking, watching movies => basically no activity.

I feel like we influenced each other in eating poorly without realizing it. I didn’t think that randomly hanging out could make people fat.  I guess next time you plan a play date/outing; you might want to include some sort of exercise in there.

How do I avoid making everyone fat in my entourage?

My brother and mother, a few years ago

Leave a Reply

