Halloween: A Scary Time for Childhood Obesity

Halloween is around the corner and grocery stores have their shelves full of costumes and special treats. It is probably the worse time of the year for me because I have trouble finding costumes my size, I am afraid to go out because of the way I look, and I need to stay away from sweets.

Growing up it was my favorite time of the year: I used to get so many candies that they would last me for a month or two. I would even be happy when only a few trick-or-treaters would visit my house; it meant more candies for me!

Even as an adult, I would wait until the morning after Halloween to get all the half-off candy bargains. Actually, now that I am thinking about it, I followed the same ritual for most holidays. The years went by, the pounds piled up and I thought nothing of it.

Now that I have researched a lot about childhood obesity, I see things differently. I have this vision of candy companies filing their pockets with money, and weight loss groups and dentists happily waiting for their next client/patient.

I almost want to hand out small bags of fruits and vegetables. I have a few issues with that: One, it might be a joy killer to children who’ve been waiting for that day all year. Two, it might not be fair to fit children who exercise enough not to gain weight. Three, it might point out to heavy kids that they are “different”, thus ruining their holiday…

I am still debating on what to do. Let’s see what happens. If your children come back with loads of candies, make sure you monitor the quantity they eat and how much they exercise to stay out of trouble. If you’re coming back from trick-or-treating, I hope you walked enough to deserve these treats. 🙂

Trick or Treat safely and healthfully! Happy Halloween!

4 responses to “Halloween: A Scary Time for Childhood Obesity

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Halloween: A Scary Time for Childhood Obesity | Finding Thin: Thoughts From A Fat Man -- Topsy.com

  2. This year for Halloween, wear your scary Halloween costume and have fun bringing the terror to your neighborhood. Lady Handbags

  3. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case.
    my God, i thought you were going to chip in with some decisive insght at the end there, not leave it
    with ‘we leave it to you to decide’.

    • This is a blog, not a press article. I write about what I think, I don’t tell people what to do. If you need decisive insight, you will probably find that in a newspaper or some research paper. Thank you for your comment nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

