Looking for Healthy in a World of Junk

What should I eat?

These days, everything I see or read has something to do with eating healthy. From Michelle Obama to news stations and even at schools, the new message is “be healthy”. My problem: I find it overwhelming and even crushing sometimes.

When I go shopping at my local grocery store, I don’t know what to get anymore. I have discovered that whatever I used to buy is unhealthy. I was told not a long time ago that my favorite yoghurt was very bad for me. I have just realized that most of my diet was full of chemical garbage.

Then, if I try to buy healthier products, the prices are so high that I feel powerless about what to do. Fruits and vegetables have become a luxury item I cannot afford, and the few coupons I get are always for unhealthy foods or things I don’t like.

I  don’t know how to shop healthy and affordable. I don’t like cooking. My fridge is either empty or filled with junk and I often end up ordering in. I was told to get control over what I eat, I find is very hard to do.  I don’t even desire the so-called healthy foods really.

I feel like everybody is telling us to get out there and eat healthy, but nobody is telling us how we can pay for it and switch our lifestyles. I’d like some inputs…

3 responses to “Looking for Healthy in a World of Junk

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Looking for Healthy in a World of Junk « Finding Thin: Thoughts From A Fat Man -- Topsy.com

  2. Fruits and vegetables have become a luxury item I cannot afford,but you can afford to eat out? something doesn’t add up

    I know it doesn’t make for much variety but there are veg you can always get for $1/ lb or under: cabbage,onions are the ones I go for. the pre-chopped Cole slaw mix makes it really easy to cook with and I’ve noticed Cole slaw (my healthy version) survives the trip to work a lot better than a salad.
    Yeah, being on a budget sometimes means settling for frozen. I know it’s as healthy (or more, from some studies) than fresh but I have a hard time cooking it enough to be done but not “meh”, so it’s usually in soup.

    • After years of eating out a ton, I have tried the eating at home but really did not find it to be that cheap.
      The one thing I like that you said, was about turning it into soup. I love vegetable soup.
      Do you have any recipes that you could share?

Leave a Reply

