Infectobesity: a real cause of weight gain?

Possibly the strangest theory I have come across while researching this film is a condition trademarked ‘Infectobesity’. My travels sent me to the Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana where I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Nikhil Dhurandhar, the man who coined the phrase. I had no idea what to expect. My first thought was, am I infectious? Maybe the reason why I’m fat is because somebody gave me a virus. If that was the case, I would be passing it to everyone else. I mean my god, do we have to walk around in haz mat suits and prevent being in the proximity of fat people?

I had Dr.Dhurandhar explain infectobesity about five times and I still don’t understand it very well.  What I gather is that there are bacteria that may cause people to process food differently, making them have greater weight gain and fat storage.

I worry that if I have one of these viruses, I won’t be able to lose the weight. There isn’t a vaccine for these viruses yet and it will make it very difficult to lose. Also, does this mean that it is not my fault if I am fat? Did my lifestyle and eating habits not contribute to my weight as much as I thought, or is this just the easy excuse?

I would love to know what you think.   Is Infectobesity real and if so, what can I do about it?

– Barry Roskin Blake

return to finding thin

Leave a Reply

