Kevin Smith: Fat Crusader

I’m sure by now you’ve heard the news about Kevin Smith and Southwest Airlines. If not, Kevin Smith, screenwriter, producer, director, best known for the movie Clerks, was kicked off a Southwest Airlines flight from Oakland to Burbank, on Saturday for being fat. He then took his outrage to Twitter and his one million+ followers. Below are a few of his tweets on the subject:

Dear @SouthwestAir – I know I’m fat, but was Captain Leysath really justified in throwing me off a flight for which I was already seated?

Dear @SouthwestAir, I flew out in one seat, but right after issuing me a standby ticket, Oakland Southwest attendant Suzanne (wouldn’t give last name) told me Captain Leysath deemed me a “safety risk”. Again: I’m way fat… But I’m not THERE just yet. But if I am, why wait til my bag is up, and I’m seated WITH ARM RESTS DOWN. In front of a packed plane with a bunch of folks who’d already I.d.ed me as “Silent Bob.”

Hey @SouthwestAir? Fuck making it right for me just ’cause I have a platform. I sat next to a big girl who was chastised for not buying an extra ticket because “all passengers deserve their space.” Fucking flight wasn’t even full! Fuck your size-ist policy. Rude…

Hey @SouthwestAir! I’ve landed in Burbank. Don’t worry: wall of the plane was opened & I was airlifted out while Richard Simmons supervised.

If you want more, he’s recorded a very special episode of his SModcast telling Southwest Airlines to “Go Fuck Yourself.” There are rumors that he was stoned and/or drunk which he denies in his tweets. He was seated with the armrests down and didn’t need an extender. He was offered a $100 voucher and turned it down. Over at Big Liberty Blog she’s taken notes from the podcast if you can’t or don’t have the time to listen.

I agree with Kate Harding, I’m sorry for Kevin Smith the man. This is crap and I’m tired of the airlines nickel-dimeing us to death and now shaming people for being too fat.  But I’m happy this happened to Kevin Smith the celebrity with over a million followers on Twitter. For him to become the poster child for the discriminated fatties of the world of airline travel, is awesome. Perhaps this will draw attention to how these policies are so arbitrarily enforced. In two of his tweets from Feb 13, 8:20pm he says “I saw someone bigger than me on THAT flight! But I wasn’t about to throw a fellow Fatty under the plane as I’m being profiled. But he & I made eye contact, & he was like “Please don’t tell…””

Go you, Kevin Smith! Show the airlines how crappy their anti-fat policies are!

— Pattie Lee

return to finding thin

Leave a Reply

