LAST DAY OF THE CLEANSE

Today is the last day of the cleanse. It hasn’t been easy at all, but I’ve made it through. I actually haven’t noticed much of anything different from doing this cleanse. I was expecting healthier skin and more energy, but nope. Nothing different. Well, my hands are drier and itchier than they’ve ever been. I suspect that is from washing my blender 4 times a day though. If you are considering embarking on a cleanse here are some tips.

The fruits of one hour of labor. A single glass of Green Juice.

In particular these tips apply to The Green Juice Cleanse that I did with the ladies at Owning Pink. It was designed by Tricia Barrett a nutritionist at the Clear Center of Health in Mill Valley, California.

Get a juicer. This cleanse requires you to drink 8 glasses of green juice per day. This is not a juice you can go out and buy, you have to make it yourself. A blender still needs to be strained. It took me an hour to blend and strain juice for ONE GLASS. It would take 40 hours to make enough juice for the week with your blender.

Remove all food you can’t have from your house. Use up or give the foods you can’t eat while cleansing to a friend. Get it out of your house. You don’t want to be tempted when the craving hits. And trust me, cravings will hit.

Try to be alone while cleansing. Denial of favorite foods can cause moodiness. You don’t want to upset your friends or yourself while you are cleansing. Also, if you’ve got a roommate or spouse who orders pizza you’ll want to grab a slice. Being alone will help prevent this.

Tell people you are cleansing. Reporting here and to my friends was helpful to keep me committed to this. It also let my friends know why I couldn’t join them for fun nights out on the town.

Find others to cleanse with you. Everything is easier when you aren’t all alone. Having a group to support you and go through this with you is so helpful. The group at the Owning Pink website helped with questions and shared stories. They also had conference calls to discuss topics along the way. It was so helpful with others asking questions I didn’t think of, I wouldn’t have realized I needed to strain the stuff from the blender if it weren’t for a question from one of the others.

Don’t go hungry. You need to keep your body well fed so it has the energy to detox and repair itself. This cleanse had different levels for different lifestyles and also different levels of people experienced with cleansing. We were allowed to eat raw or steamed veggies, broth, and soups. Plus the green juice had all the nutrition from about 3 pounds of vegetables. There was no reason to be hungry. Any cleanse that leaves you hungry probably isn’t going to work (although I’m not a doctor and this is not medical advice), and you’ll be reaching for the Goldfish crackers before you can complete one day.

Plan something fun for the first day after cleansing. I have a small gathering with friends planned for Saturday. It gave me something to look forward to and plan for this whole week. It may involve margaritas and I’m sure Tricia would say, “tsk tsk.”  I haven’t had a margarita in a couple of months so I’m looking forward to it.

That is my experience with cleansing and what I’d tell someone considering doing a cleanse. Again, I am not a medical professional, this is not medical advice. If you plan to embark on a cleanse be sure to discuss it with your doctor.

–Pattie Lee

return to finding thin

Leave a Reply

