WHO WANTS TO GET SICK?

The other day I weighed myself and I found that I had lost 10 pounds since the last time I weighed myself maybe a month ago. It’s not something I do on a regular basis, that just leads to more depression and self abuse. But something had inspired me to step on the scale, I can’t remember what it was, but it gave me the nudge. I have done nothing to lose this weight, aside from being sick. I don’t exercise, and I don’t count calories.

Bathroom scale for sale at Amazon.com

I posted this weight loss information on a social media site. I was surprised to see how many people were wishing they too could become sick and lose 10 pounds. Others congratulated me on the weight loss. It made me feel like people were more interested in the lost pounds than how the pounds were lost. Everyone ignored the fact that I was sick and concentrated on the fact that I lost weight without actually trying.

Anyone could lose weight on the B.R.A.T. diet (Banans, Rice, Applesauce, Toast) but is that weight loss sustainable? Is it realistic? Is it a diet you can live on for the rest of your life? Is it healthy? Of course not, it’s the diet you go on when you can’t eat real food and need to consume something to keep you alive. It’s a diet prescribed to you by a doctor to keep your stomach from turning inside out.

I couldn’t believe people would actually wish to be sick so they too could lose weight. Are we that obsessed with being thin that we’d wish for illness? Or is it that we’re so focused on thin that when someone mentions they were sick and lost 10 pounds we see that as a good thing? No one wants to admit that the weight will return as soon as the illness is gone.

back to findingthin.com

Leave a Reply

